1st part

Synopsis – first part

The Sultan Djem, known as Djem or Zizim to the French, as Cem in Turkey, Gem Zizimi, Jem Sultan or even Jem Zizim, first brings a legendary prince to the minds of most. And for a good reason! One can find every element of a fictional movie or an excellent thriller in the surprising destiny of this prince who lived during the fifteenth century: war, treason, prison, escapes, love, murders, poison, every kind of intrigue…and the action ends in great finale in the very core of the Vatican, under the strange orchestration of our Holy Father the pope.

With his Djem, a tormented prince, Maurice Caron, author of the 2006 release The Chronology of the Hospitallers, completes a work of reference in 2010, as a result of a thorough and extensive historical research.

From now on, passionate history lovers and friends of thrilling sensations can follow step by step the journey of Djem, also called the prisoner of Bourganeuf.

From Konya, where he reigned over the Karaman since the age of twelve while his brother Bayezid governed the western provinces of the Empire, to the fratricidal struggles at the time of the Conquerors death, we will follow Djem, who has become Sultan of Anatolia, forced to take shelter on the island of the mighty knights of Rhodes, on Christian land. He lands there, protected by his « right of passage » delivered to him by the great master Pierre d’Aubusson. He is welcomed and entertained magnificently by the monks hospitallers, who will plead his cause and even encourage him to rebuild an army in Europe, so he would be able to return to the Empire by foot, to take back his inheritance: the throne of his ancestors. And this quite legitimately, without any doubt, as prince Djem is, out of two brothers, the only surviving son of the Conqueror of Constantinople who can assert to have been « born in the purple ».

And yet…

Continued on part 2

Excerpt from Djem, a tormented Prince

16th of May 1481

…At the same time in Asia Minor, in the south of the Empire, the night has just fallen on Konya. As usual, prolonging his supper, Djem is surrounded by his loyal friends, poets and musicians, among whom are Haider, his minister of justice, and Saadi, his defterdar. To the sound of a harp or a six-stringed lute the prince is desperately trying to tune, sometimes they improvise; sometimes they clamour, with the help of alcohol and the long water pipe, the chorus of a ballad or a poem they have written. Some, half lying on comfortable cushions, are on the verge of falling sound asleep, when a guard approaches the master obsequiously:

- My Lord, a rider carrying an urgent letter just arrived.

- Well, if it is so important, what are you waiting for?

The messenger is there already, bowed before him. Djem skims through the letter; his eyes turn thoughtful for a short moment, then harden. The music has stopped, as if it wanted to underline the intensity of the circumstances. Everyone, by the gravity of the master, feels the solemnity of the instant.

- There is no date. Since when have you left?

- The misfortune happened the fourth of rebioul, My Lord. The Grand Vizier Mehmet Pacha, wanting you to be the first informed, tried to cover up the event to gain time.

- Then why did you arrive so late?

- Two messengers left before me, My Lord. Both were arrested and executed by Sinan-Pacha. I left thirteen days ago, five days after the death of your father, the Grand Lord, may Allah open wide the doors of Heaven for him ! Then I had to avoid the region of Kütahya.

The silence seems endless. Prince Djem thinks, obviously, measuring the extent of the disaster. His eyes are looking for support, or a way out, in the assistance.

- And what happened during these five days?

- The janissaries have rebelled; they murdered the Grand Vizir, who only wanted your best, and the next day, Korkoud was named general of the Empire.

- Good. Go to the kitchen, you must be hungry, and then rest.

« Friends, brothers, Djem calmly proclaims, my councillors, my viziers, my general lieutenants shall be summoned. A council will be held in an hour. You all understood: the Conqueror has left us, and my brother must have a lead of at least a week over us ; at this time, he has taken over the throne of Osman and the corps of the janissaries is his already. I need all opinions as fast as possible. May God, the almighty be mild and may my father, Mehmet, rest in peace! »

Famous quote

The sultan Djem has been glorified and showered praise upon by the greatest french authors: Lamartine, Voltaire, Bossuet, Hugo himself, all sung his praises, and all mourned his destiny.

Zizimi, Soudan of Egypt, lord and commander

Padishah of the faithful, whose glory is grander

Than that of Germany’s Caesar or the Sultan of East,

Master who gets one’s fill by great splendour at least

Consider: it is time for the feast that will last the whole night;

The whole table is steaming as a censer tonight;

The banquet is set far up there in the highest crypt

In a palace long raised by the old kings of Egypt…

Victor Hugo, The legend of centuries

Middle-east map

Comments are closed.

1ère partie

Synopsis, 1ère partie

Le Sultan Djem, appelé Zizim par les Français, Djem par les Anglo-Saxons, parfois Gem, Jem, Zizimi, Jem sultan, Jem Zizim, voire Jem, évoque pour beaucoup un prince de légende.

Et pour cause ! On trouve, dans le destin surprenant de ce prince du XVe siècle, tous les ingrédients d’un film de fiction ou d’un excellent policier : guerre, trahison, prison, fuite, amours, meurtres, poison, intrigues en tout genre… Et l’action se termine en apothéose, au sein même du Vatican, avec l’insolite orchestration de notre Saint-père le pape.

Avec son Djem, un prince dans la tourmente, Maurice CARON, auteur en 2006 de la Chronologie des Hospitaliers, signe en 2010 un ouvrage de référence issu d’une recherche historique approfondie.

Les amoureux d’histoire et de sensations fortes peuvent désormais suivre pas-à-pas le parcours de Djem, aussi appelé le prisonnier de Bourganeuf.

De Konya où il gouvernait depuis l’âge de douze ans le Karaman tandis que son frère Bajazet dirigeait les provinces Occidentales de l’Empire, aux luttes fratricides à la mort du Conquérant, nous suivons Djem, devenu sultan d’Anatolie, tenu de se réfugier sur l’île des puissants chevaliers de Rhodes, en terre chrétienne. S’appuyant sur le « droit de passage » qui lui a été accordé par le grand maître Pierre d’Aubusson, il y est reçu avec magnificence par les moines-hospitaliers qui plaident sa cause, et même l’encouragent à reconstituer une armée en Europe afin de rentrer, par voie de terre, dans l’empire et reprendre son bien : le trône de ses ancêtres. Bien légitime nul n’en peut douter, car le prince Djem est, des deux fils survivants du Conquérant de Constantinople, seul à être né « dans la pourpre ».

Et pourtant…

Suite en page 2

Extrait de « Djem, un prince dans la tourmente »

16 Mai 1481

…Pendant ce temps, en Asie Mineure, au sud de l’Empire, la nuit vient de tomber sur Konya. Comme à son habitude, prolongeant son repas du soir, Djem est entouré de ses fidèles amis poètes et musiciens, parmi lesquels Haider, son garde des sceaux, et Saadi, son defterdar. Au son d’une harpe ou d’un luth à six chœurs que tente désespérément d’accorder le prince, tantôt ils improvisent, tantôt ils clament, l’alcool et la longue pipe à eau aidant, le refrain d’une ballade ou d’un poème de leur composition. Certains, semi-allongés sur de confortables coussins, sont sur le point de sombrer dans un profond sommeil, lorsqu’un garde s’approche du maître, obséquieux :
- Seigneur, un cavalier porteur d’un pli urgent vient d’arriver.
- Eh bien, si c’est important, qu’attends-tu ?
Le messager est déjà là, courbé, couvert de sueur et de poussière. Djem parcourt la missive ; un court instant son regard devient pensif, puis se durcit. La musique s’est arrêtée, comme pour marquer l’intensité de la circonstance. Chacun sent, à la gravité du maître, la solennité du moment.
- Il n’y a pas de date. Depuis quand es-tu parti ?
- Le malheur est arrivé le 4 rebioul, Seigneur. Le grand-vizir Mehmed Pacha, voulant que tu sois le premier informé, a essayé de cacher l’événement afin de gagner du temps.
- Alors, pourquoi arrives-tu si tard ?
- Deux coursiers sont partis avant moi, Seigneur. Ils ont été tous deux arrêtés et exécutés par Sinan-Pacha. J’ai pris la route voici treize jours, cinq jours après la mort de ton père le Grand Seigneur, qu’Allah lui ouvre grandes les portes du paradis ! Puis il m’a fallu éviter la région de Kütahya.
Le silence se fait, interminable. Le prince Djem, à l’évidence, réfléchit, mesure l’étendue de la catastrophe. Du regard, il cherche dans l’assistance un soutien, une issue.
- Et que s’est-il passé durant ces cinq jours ?
- Les janissaires se sont révoltés ; ils ont tué le grand-vizir, lequel ne voulait que ton bien Seigneur, et le lendemain, Korkoud a été déclaré général de l’Empire.
- Bien, va en cuisine, tu dois avoir faim, puis repose-toi.
Après un nouveau moment de réflexion respecté par tous les convives, Djem proclame calmement :
- Mes amis, mes frères, qu’on aille quérir incontinent mes conseillers, mes vizirs, mes lieutenants généraux. Dans une heure se tient un conseil. Vous l’avez tous compris : le Conquérant nous a quitté et mon frère doit avoir plus d’une semaine d’avance sur nous ; il s’est donc, à l’heure présente, emparé du trône d’Osman et le corps des janissaires lui est d’ores et déjà acquis. J’ai besoin sans tarder de tous les avis. Que le Dieu Tout-Puissant nous soit clément et que mon père, Mehmet, repose en paix !

Citation célèbre

Le sultan Djem-Zizim a été loué, encensé par les plus grands auteurs français : Lamartine, Voltaire, Bossuet, Hugo lui-même, tous ont chanté sa noblesse, pleuré sa destinée.

Zizimi, soudan d’Egypte, commandeur
Des croyants, padischah qui dépasse en grandeur
Le césar d’Allemagne et le sultan d’Asie,
Maître que la splendeur énorme rassasie
Songe : c’est le moment de son festin du soir ;
Toute la table fume ainsi qu’un encensoir ;
Le banquet est dressé dans la plus haute crypte
D’un palais bâti par les vieux rois d’Égypte…

Victor Hugo, La légende des siècles.

Carte du parcours de Djem au Moyen Orient

Les commentaires sont fermés.